Dr. Cynthia Lane Announces Retirement
Check out KCPT’s latest Take Note video about farm-to-school food featuring KCKPS Director of Nutritional Services Josh Mathiasmeier. In the video, he talks about the importance of serving students fresh fruits and vegetables to promote healthy eating habits and to make a dent in childhood obesity. The Take Note program takes an in-depth look at education in the Kansas City metropolitan area, where we are, how we got here and where we need to go.
New KCKPS Video Highlights District’s Outstanding Features
Congratulations to the December Employees of the Month!
Congratulations to the December Students of the Month!

Seven KCKPS Schools Named Challenge Award Recipients

January 25, 2016


Contact: Tammy Dodderidge, communications manager, (913) 279-2225

Seven schools within the Kansas City, Kansas Public Schools are being recognized by the state of Kansas as 2015 Challenge Award recipients.

Each year, the Kansas State Department of Education’s Confidence in Education Task Force presents Challenge Awards to schools across the state to recognize the notable difference they are making in student achievement, despite challenges in their school population.

KCKPS schools being recognized are:

  • Emerson Elementary
  • John Fiske Elementary
  • Mark Twain Elementary
  • White Church Elementary
  • W.A. White Elementary
  • Argentine Middle
  • Sumner Academy of Arts and Science  

Members of the Task Force will present the awards to these schools at the January 26 KCK Board of Education meeting. The meeting will begin at 5 p.m. at the KCKPS Central Office and Training Center, 2010 N. 59th St.

“Congratulations to the students and staff at these schools for their commendable achievements,” said Dr. Cynthia Lane, superintendent. “They exemplify our ‘inspiring excellence’ mission, and they make our district and our community extremely proud.”

Scores from the Kansas Assessment and the socio-economic status of those taking the test were used as a measurement for determining the Challenge Award recipients.

The Confidence Task Force is a non-profit corporation whose primary purpose is to strengthen confidence in Kansas public education, and to increase awareness of the positive aspects of public education in the state.

For more information on the awards, visit http://ksconfidencetaskforce.weebly.com/challenge-awards.html .

- 30 -

Melissa Fears • Communications Office
2010 N. 59th Street • Kansas City, KS 66104 • 913-279-2242