Two USD 500 Teachers Named Horizon Award Winners

Each year, the Kansas State Department of Education, (KSDE) gives school districts the opportunity to nominate two educators who have just completed their first year of teaching—one first year elementary teacher and one first year secondary teacher—to be recognized for their outstanding teaching skills. The KSDE then selects the educators they feel are the most deserving. This recognition is known as the Kansas Horizon Award program.

The award is broken up between four regions across the state. Each region selected only recognizes four educators from the elementary level and four educators from the secondary level as Horizon Award Winners. With that being said, KCKPS is ecstatic to announce that both of USD 500 nominated teachers made the list of the eight individuals selected for Region 3.

Rachel Leonard currently teaches English/Language Arts at F.L. Schlagle High School. As a published author, Rachel took a leap of faith and joined the KCKPS Teaching Fellows program. She then found her home at F.L. Schlagle High school.

Abigail Morris is a 1st Grade teacher at Stony Point North. Morris, who was born and raised in KCK is passionate about being a part of the community she is from.

“I love so many things about what I do,” said Morris. “I think my favorite part of what I do is when we are working through concepts that might be difficult for my students, and seeing that light bulb click when they understand. The pride and happiness that I see on their faces when they accomplish something fills my heart!”

Congratulations to both of you.

Posted January 11, 2021

Related Posts